Long Grove History
The Village of Long Grove, once a crossing of two Indian trails, was settled in the 1840’s by German Farmers. The town thrived in the 1900’s. Businesses included two general stores and a hotel. There was also a creamery, tavern and town hall. By 1945, post World War II rationing and economics left Long Grove a ghost town. Thereafter, farmers wives acquired corner stores in the town. They sold handmade dresses, desserts and antiques. Once again, Long Grove became a desirable place to visit. In 1962, the “Historic Landmark Ordinance” was passed. This ordinance was the first of its kind in the country. It requires that remodeling and new construction conform to established “Long Grove Style”. Today, many pre-Civil War buildings still remain in the Village. Plaques adorn each structure. They acknowledge original building owners. Strict building ordinances protect the history and atmosphere of the community.
Historic Covered Bridge
The town’s Historic Covered Bridge is located on Robert Parker Coffin Road in Long Grove. It was originally constructed in 1906. The structure is one of only two of it’s kind remaining in the greater Chicagoland area. For over 100 years, the bridge has stood as a symbol of this crossroads town. The Covered Bridge has made Long Grove the pedestrian-friendly, walking town it is know for. On June 15, 2018, the one-lane bridge was placed on the National Register for Historic Places. Unfortunately, just days after the designation, it was severely damaged when a box truck plowed into it. On July 11, 2018, the Daily Herald reported that Long Grove’s iconic covered bridge would be closed info the following year to accommodate repairs.
Long Grove Metro Area
The town of Long Grove is located 35 miles northwest of Chicago. It resides near Routes 53 and 83, just north of Lake Cook Road. This Lake County community shares the same 60047 zip code with the Villages of Lake Zurich, Hawthorn Woods & Kildeer Illinois.